top of page

Battery is underspec'd

Bad luck continues. From the beginning of the project this car has performance issues. Only after fixing all the minor issues, October last year, I drove my first test drive of around 10km. This was with my engineering inspector actually driving. The outcome is that whilst driving the car is still underperforming.


The car failed inspection again. The motor cuts out at around 50-60 kmh. And that happens all the time. With monitoring during driving - I use the Batrium monitor software - I finally understand the original problem of this underspec'd battery. At around 290-300Amp draw what happens is that the first 10 out of 24 modules are sucked completely empty and the battery goes into a critical stage. These 10 modules recover after you pull over the car after about 5 to 10 seconds. Well that is inconvenient driving.


There is only one solution. That is to upgrade the battery. The good news followed.

In December I purchased a complete upgrade this car to a 24kwh leaf. So that is similar to what the first generation Nissan Leaf used. You can debate; that is again, underspec'd and underpowered, yes true but double of what I have now.

Installation is in progress.

MY FEATURED POSTS

Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.

FOLLOW US

  • Facebook Long Shadow
  • Google+ Long Shadow
  • LinkedIn Long Shadow
  • Twitter Long Shadow

I’M ALWAYS HAPPY

TO GET TO KNOW MY READERS AND SHARE INSIGHTS AND IDEAS. 

 

DROP ME A LINE 

Success! Message received.

bottom of page